Loading Events

« All Events

Dismantling Racism Starts Here:
ELIMINATE THE SCHOOL TO PRISON PIPELINE

Nationally, about 38% of Black children experience out -of-school- suspensions while Blacks comprise only about 13% of the American population.  Out of school suspensions do not work, and channels Black children out of public schools and into the criminal justice system.

We invite you to join The Racial Equity Initiative’s Martin Luther King Day of Service webinar in collaboration with Global Citizen 365

Monday January 17th, 11:00AM (EST)/10:00AM (CST) to 12:15PM (EST)/11:15 (CST)

 Just Discipline: An Antidote to the School to Prison Pipeline 

Featuring:

Dr. James Huguley, Associate Professor, University of Pittsburgh, and Just Discipline Principal Investigator. Associate Dean, School of Social Work

Rudy Bankston, President, i Am We, Writer, Restorative Justice Consultant and Coach

Shawn E. Thomas, Just Discipline Project Director at the Center on Race and Social Problems

Please RSVP below to reserve your spot for this event.

Details

Date:
January 17
Time:
11:00 am - 12:15 pm EST
Cost:
Free

Keep up to date with our latest work and upcoming workshops.